big, little

Today I was reminded of how much time was spent with the oldest child doing activities that required very little accommodation by him: finding empty lots with diggers and playing on them, taking an hour at the wholesale store so we could move at toddler speed, bouncing on the beds in the back, looking at each new toy on the shelf, talking about the different fruits we’d see.

Since my oldest has been in school, there hasn’t been quite the same time spent blissfully finding activities for the youngest to do, but we do find things that end up being particularly special with our newfound 1:1 mama time.

Today, we found diggers.

I heard heartfelt, “Ohhhhh!” and lots of “Mmmmmm!!!”

There was a BIG digger, “Ohhhhh!”

And there was a little digger, “Oooh”

Pondering what the fascination is with these noisy, cabled machines, I remembered a walk with some friends whose daughters had never seen diggers up close and in action before, nor had the one young son.  We stumbled upon a front-end loader getting some scoops out of the pile of dirt we were going to play on (with permission), and I had to instantly go into calm-down-distraction-mode because the girls were in near hysterics as the the giant machine approached.  Meanwhile, the young son, maybe a year old, watched with eyes WIDE eating it all up as though he’d seen a mythical beast descend from the sky and his purpose in his small life had just been revealed.

Wired.

Not sure yet what the wiring is for…big…noisy…powerful…mysterious…magical…

Like a moth to a flame, my boys in the toddler years have been compelled to experience any digger they can.

I even got an “Oooooh!” of discovery upon unearthing a half-used can of Rustoleum on the floor of the digger.  Oooooh indeed.

In all my years before motherhood, I never experienced elevated levels of excitement upon the discovery of an unoccupied and mostly safe construction site, or found myself pointing and squealing over some ancient and clearly refinished vehicle.  A sheltered and clean mud puddle was devoid of emotional excitement.  But now I have boys.  My mud-puddle radar has been honed.

So I reveled in a muddy boy this afternoon at the playground construction site…

And then again when I locked my keys in the car at school, we were blessed with a clean pile of sand in the parking lot…why I bother wiping faces is still a mystery to me other than social pressure 😉

No, faces and fingers don’t manage to stay very clean around here in the toddler years.  But we sure do have fun digging.

5 responses to “big, little

  1. Haha I totally ditto the wiping faces because of social pressure only 😉

  2. I miss Baby Gabey!

  3. Gweeg you are so awesome — this is really cool… I love your new posts — please keep it up!

  4. Blessings indeed….. 🙂

  5. Nels only had one year of one-on-one Mom attention before Garth arrived, and the two of them were inseparable from the day Garth was born. Even though they had very different interests, they were partners in crime together and really watched out for each other. The day Nels started all-day kindergarten, he left on the bus at 7:30 and arrived home around 3:45. I was so absorbed with my own thoughts and apprehensions (What do you suppose he’s doing now? Will everything be okay for him today? Will he be afraid to try new things? Will he make friends easily?) that it took a while before I noticed Garth was not around (we lived in the country on a road with very low traffic). When I found him, it nearly broke my heart. He was standing at the end of the driveway, blanket in hand and thumb in his mouth, looking longingly down the road. When I asked him what he was doing, he replied that he was waiting for his brother to come home. I told him it would be a while, but he stood there for over two hours, waiting for any sign of the big yellow bus that had taken his best friend away somewhere. That mental picture will remain with me forever as a reminder of what brotherly love is all about.

Leave a Reply

