questions boys ask about nursing

While passing through the living room, I was stopped by a little face looking as though….well, looking as though his wee winkie was squished in a book and he didn’t quite know what was happening or how to fix it.  His little brow furrowed and breath sucked in, waiting for rescue.

Upon rescuing his small appendage, he looked down to study himself.  He then looked up at me with questioning eyes and signed “nurse?”  “You want to nurse?” I ask, thinking the obvious…that he was asking to nurse.  He then points back to himself while looking at me and signs “nurse” again.  Oh.

So today I had to break it to my son that his penis was not for nursing.  He did ask again several minutes later.  I posed it as a question since reflection is something mothers *do*, “Are you asking ‘Can you nurse your penis?'”   He instantly bent into an awkward position, hindered only by his bipedal bone structure, to attempt the impossible with his little mouth agape.  He looked back at me with a confused, sad look.

Oh my.  Nope.  Not now, not ever.  Sorry bud.

Some days, you never know what even the littlest of boys will throw your way.

7 responses to “questions boys ask about nursing

  1. The beauty of children is that all topics are open for discussion. It’s only later in life that children learn to perceive that certain topics are inappropriate or off-limits. Motherhood is full of situations that will challenge the squeamish or offendable. From the first visit to the OB-GYN to determine if a woman is pregnant, she begins a journey of gradually losing her sense of modesty — at least when it comes to issues of pregnancy and motherhood. Vaginal check-ups, breast exams, and (after the baby is born) wet blouses (from milk letting down), messy diapers, hormonal flare-ups, periods, and vaginal discharges, which all lead up to dealing with babies and their bodily functions. I believe openness is good. Real life is good. Processing through authentic situations is good. Life is good.

  2. As a mother with older sons, my advice would be to take down this post. I’m just thinking that the poor little guy will be mortified in the future. Boys need to know that they can trust you as their mom not to embarrass them. The male ego is very fragile. I love your writing style maybe you should write childrens books.

    • Thank you for the compliment, and your thoughts. I’ll have to remember to stash the picture before he starts to roll his eyes about this sort of thing. Good idea 😀

  3. Ever wonder why dogs ‘lick’ themselves? Because they can… Fortunately, our Creator decided that it be located where it is for good reason.

    Thanks for sharing Ginger. I laughed so hard. Wait until this guy gets to figure out ‘zippers.’

  4. Good Morning Ginger and Family,

    I am still convinced that so many of the “problems” we perceive to have about ourselves would have never existed in the first place if the immediate reaction by those who love us and brought us up weren’t so “Victorian” due to their upbringing, their parents upbringing, etc.

    Like it or not, children will ask the seemingly impossible/unthinkable. Love, patience to the inth degree and a sense of humor does go a long way! 🙂 🙂

  5. Wow did this make me laugh out loud! We’ve had lots of different penis discussions at our house, but this one has never come up.

    And while I’m here, I just wanted to say how much I enjoy your blog, Ginger. I’m glad there is a blog that focuses on raising boys, and the different nuances brothers have.(and it’s nice to not have to be jealous of all the girly sewing/knitting/crafty stuff.) I’m currently building a new baby and I’ve got a sneaking suspicion that another brother will be here soon.

  6. Ginger:

    Kids are such an adventure, and I think boys offer a special kind of fun and curiosity. I’ll never forget the time I walked into the bathroom and found my own 18-month-old Littlest on tip-toes over the toilet bowl. He had unwrapped a used Kotex (yeah, you heard me!), soaked it in the water, and was sucking on it. He looked at me and grinned from ear to ear. He was having such fun! He’s now 18 years old and doesn’t do stuff like that anymore…

Leave a Reply

